2016 Winners

VENTRILOQUIST Dean Atkinson brought down the house at the 2016 Australian Shipping and Maritime Awards.

Mr Atkinson, who was also MC, kept the night nice and lively, of course bringing several members of the audience up on stage to participate.

Guests came from several sectors including government, shipping, freight forwarding and customs broking.

Among the dignitaries was Senator for Tasmania Jacqui Lambie, a guest of Ausport Marine and someone who has herself taken a keen interest in coastal shipping.

The Reverend Ian Porter of the Sydney Mission to Seafarers got the night underway by leading the delegation in saying a Maritime Grace.

The night progressed well with good food and drinks and there were several breaks in proceedings to allow for networking and the renewal of friendships and acquaintances.

A moving time of the night was the induction of Shipping Australia’s legendary Phil Kelly into the Australian maritime hall of fame.

Mr Kelly, who has been involved in the industry for close to 70 years, lives in the Melbourne suburb of Williamstown. He was unable to attend due to health issues, but his pre-recorded acceptance speech was broadcast to the gathering creating a somewhat poignant moment.

DPW Australia Paul Scurrah was named 2016 newsmaker in recognition of a busy year particularly in Melbourne.

Just under $4000 was raised for Mission to Seafarers.

The award winners are listed below.

Liner Trade to South East Asia Award
Winner: Maersk
Highly commended: ANL
Sponsor: Fremantle Ports

Liner Trade to North East Asia
Winner: OOCL
Highly commended: Cosco and Maersk

Liner Trade to New Zealand, Pacific Islands and Papua New Guinea
Winner: ANL
Highly commended: Swire Shipping

Liner Trade to North America
Winner: CMA CGM
Highly commended: Hapag Lloyd

Customer Service Award
Winner: OOCL
Highly commended: Pacific Forum Line, Sinotrans and Yang Ming
Sponsor DP World Australia

Environmental Transport Award
Winner: Port of Brisbane
Highly commended: Melbourne International RoRo and Auto Terminal (MIRRAT)
Sponsor: CSL Australia

Safe Transport Award
Winner: Svitzer Australia
Highly commended: Agility Australia

Freight Forwarder of the Year
Winner: Freight Plus Australia
Highly commended: Globelink and Evans International Freight Consolidators

Customs Broker of the Year
Winner: Customs Agency Services
Highly commended: Susan Danks, Tariff Consulting
Sponsor: The Department of Immigration and Border Protection

Excellence in  Project Cargo, Breakbulk/Heavy Lift award
Winner: AAL and Gulf Agency Company
Highly commended: Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics (WWL)

Seafarers’ Welfare award
Winner: Hunterlink and CEO Gavin Kelso and MedAssist Online
Highly commended: Farstad
Sponsor: Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA)

Maritime Services Award
Winner: Maritime Employees Training Ltd
Highly commended: Geoff Hack, managing director, EES Shipping
Sponsor: Ausport Marine

Supply Chain Innovation Award
Winner: Cloud Logistics Solutions
Highly commended: Kalmar
Sponsor: Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics (WWL)

Young Maritime Professionals Award
Winner: Patrick Chan, ANL
Highly commended: Kristal Plaisted of Programmed Marine, Jed Smith of MIRRAT and Rhianna Carver of CSL

Port or Terminal of the Year
Winner: Port of Townsville
Highly commended: Melbourne International RoRo and Auto Terminal (MIRRAT)
Sponsor: SVITZER

Newsmaker of the Year
Paul Scurrah, CEO and managing director of DP World Australia
Sponsor: Hunterlink

Hall of fame inductee
Winner: Phil Kelly, Shipping Australia, Victoria
Sponsor: Holman Fenwick Willan

The judging panel for the 2016 Australian Shipping and Maritime Awards consisted of:

  • David Field of Field & Associates, chairman of the Merchant Navy War Memorial Fund chaired the panel
  • David Anderson, CEO Ports Australia
  • Cdre Rod Nairn AM, CEO Shipping Australia
  • Stuart McFarlane, Business Services Manager at Australian Federation of International Forwarders
  • Bruce Begley, Bruce Begley, Chairman Customs Brokers and Forwarders Council of Australia Ltd
  • David Sexton, Editor Lloyd’s List Australia

The judging panel did not assess the Liner Trade Awards or the Customer Service Award – these were assessed by Lloyd’s List Australia schedule reliability statistics over 12 months of data and the results of Lloyd’s List Australia’s on-line survey of customer satisfaction and service respectively.

Also the panel did not select the Newsmaker of the Year or the 2016 inductee into the Australian Maritime and Transport Hall of Fame – these decisions were made by the senior management of Lloyd’s List Australia.